DFI Announces Recipients of the Inaugural Legends Awards

DFI The DFI and the DFI Educational Trust have established an award to honor practitioners that have made significant contributions and advancements to the research, design, construction, manufacturing and use of deep foundations. The Legends Program recognizes three awardees — an engineer, contractor and manufacturer/supplier — who have shown steadfast professionalism, character and integrity, and have made a broad impact on the industry with contributions that are pivotal today.

The first recipients of this prestigious award are:

Charles J. Berkel

Contractor Legend — Charles J. Berkel, chairman of the board of Berkel & Company Contractors, Inc. (posthumously). Berkel started the company in 1959, and grew it to become one of the largest piling contractors in the United States. He was a charter member of DFI, a recipient of the 2007 DFI Distinguished Service Award and a major donor to the DFI Educational Trust Scholarship Program.



George J. Tamaro, P.E.

Engineering Legend — George J. Tamaro, P.E., consultant with Mueser Rutledge Consulting Engineers.
A structural engineer with over 50 years of experience in foundation engineering, he is an innovator in the field of difficult foundation problems and slurry wall construction. He is a noted expert on slurry wall and tieback technology.



Davide Trevisani

Davide Trevisani

Manufacturer/Supplier Legend — Davide Trevisani, president and founder of TREVI Group.
Trevisani established Trevi SpA in 1957, one of the leading specialty foundations engineering companies in the world. In 1969, he formed Soilmec, a world leader in the design and manufacturing of plants and equipment used for special foundations and drilling work.

The first recipients will be honored at the inaugural Legends Award Ceremony at the DFI 40th Annual Conference on Deep Foundations, Wednesday, Oct. 14, from 4:05 p.m. to 5:45 p.m. at the Oakland Marriott City Center in Oakland, Calif. There will be a presentation of each recipient’s life and career followed by an interview of each Legend by moderator, S. Scot Litke, Hon. D.GE, and an opportunity for the audience to ask the Legends questions.

Information about the Legends Award and the 40th Annual Conference is available at www.deepfoundations2015.org.


Comments are closed here.