DFI Announces Board of Trustees Election Results

DFIDFI’s membership voted to elect three new members to the DFI Board of Trustees and re-elect four members. Their terms begin on Jan. 1, 2017.

David B. Paul, P.E., is the special assistant for dam safety at the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers (USACE) headquarters in Washington, D.C., responsible for managing the USACE’s portfolio of 709 dams. He is a national specialist on critical infrastructure design, dam design, levee design, construction engineering, engineering risk assessments, interim risk reduction measures (IRRM), and dam and levee safety modifications performed as part of USACE dam safety management activities. Paul is a member of DFI, the United States Society of Dams (USSD), Association of State Dam Safety Officials (ASDSO) and American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE). He is co-chair of the DFI Seepage Control Working Group and serves on the USSD Committees on Construction and Embankment Dams.

Howard Perko, Ph.D., P.E., is a member of the board of directors for Magnum Piering Inc., where he advises the owner group in technical matters and directs new product research and development. He also mentors the technical sales, customer support and consulting engineering service groups. Dr. Perko is a licensed engineer in 18 states, holds 7 patents, and is author of over 40 technical publications including the engineering textbook Helical Piles. Dr. Perko is an inductee in the Civil Engineering Academy at Michigan Technological University and an adjunct faculty member at Colorado State University. He has been an active participant in DFI for over a decade and has served DFI as a committee chair, specialty conference chair and as DFI annual conference chair.

RELATED: DFI Presents President’s Awards

Lori A. Simpson, P.E., G.E., is a principal and vice president at Langan Treadwell Rollo and Langan Engineering and Environmental Services. She practices geotechnical engineering in the San Francisco Bay Area and has been with her firm for 26 years. She obtained a B.S. in civil engineering from Stanford University and an M.S. in geotechnical engineering from UC Berkeley. She is a registered Professional Engineer in California and New York, and a registered Geotechnical Engineer in California. She has published papers in the proceedings of past DFI Annual Conferences. Simpson is currently the chair of the DFI Codes and Standards Committee and has been part of the effort to modify the Soils and Foundations chapter of the International Building Code. She is also an active member of the DFI Women in Deep Foundations Committee.

Gianfranco Di Cicco of GD Consulting; Frank Haehnig of Zueblin Spezialtiefbau; Gerry Houlahan, P.E., of Moffat & Nichol; and Michael Wysockey, Ph.D., P.E., of Thatcher Foundations were all re-elected by the membership to serve another term.

The current officers of the DFI Board of Trustees for 2017-2018 are Dan Brown, Ph.D., P.E., D.GE, of Dan Brown & Associates, president; Matthew Janes, P. Eng., of Isherwood Associates, vice president; Michael Wysockey, Ph.D., P.E., of Thatcher Foundations, treasurer; and Gianfranco Di Cicco of GD Consulting, secretary.


Comments are closed here.