Tunneling ‘Awards Week’ Comes to a Close


More than 2,000 people attended The Moles Dinner on Jan. 27.

Each January, the Beavers and the Moles pay homage to the men and women who have served the industry throughout their careers with their annual awards ceremonies. This year each of these prestigious organizations presented their annual awards in front of huge audiences.

The Beavers presented their awards on Jan. 22 at the JW Marriott at LA Live in Los Angeles in front of a record turnout of 2,375, while The Mole presented their awards on Jan. 27. Unlike last year when inclement weather affected the turnout of The Moles dinner, more than 2,000 black-tie clad individuals were on hand to celebrate at the New York Hilton Midtown, despite a heavy blizzard over the weekend.

The award dinners feature special guest speakers in addition to the award winners. The Beavers’ presenter was Forbes’ editor-in-chief Steve Forbes, while The Moles’ speaker was Gen. John Paxton Jr. The respective ceremonies were presided over by Beavers’ president Wilford Clyde, Clyde Companies, and Moles’ president Jim Marquardt, J.F. Shea.

RELATED: Moles, Beavers Bestow Top Honors

The Beavers Awards are presented in four categories – Management, Supervision, Engineering and Service & Supply. Receiving this year’s awards were: Bruce E. Grewcock, Chairman and CEO of Kiewit Corp., Management Award; Michael F. Donnino, Senior Vice President and Large Projects Division Manager of Granite Construction Inc., Supervision Award; Randall J. Essex, Executive Vice President and Director of Professional Excellence for Hatch Mott MacDonald, Engineering Award; and Susan Hecker, Executive Vice President and National Director of Contract Surety for Gallagher Construction Services, a division of Arthur J. Gallagher & Co., Service & Supply Award.

The Moles Awards are presented in two categories – Member and Non-Member. Receiving this year’s awards were: Arthur B. Corwin, President and CEO of Moretrench American Corp., Member, and Wayne E. Jones, Project Manager for Traylor Bros. Inc., Non-Member.

Comments are closed here.