ITA Tunneling Award Winners Announced

ITA AwardsOn Nov. 19, the International Tunneling Association presented its inaugural tunneling awards at the Hagerbach underground test facility in Switzerland. Taking tops honors were:

  • Major Project of the Year (over €500 million) –Eurasia Tunnel Project
  • Tunneling Project of the Year (between €50 million and €500 million) – 1st Phase of Low and Intermediate Level Radioactive Waste Disposal Facility Construction
  • Outstanding Project of the Year (up to €50 million) – Norsborg Metro Depot
  • Technical Innovation of the Year – Innovative Vehicle-mounted GPR Technique for Fast and Efficient Monitoring of Tunnel Lining Structure Conditions
  • Environmental Initiative of the Year – The Corrib Tunnel Project – tunneling in environmentally sensitive area
  • Safety Initiative of the Year – MineARC Systems Compressed Air Management Solution
  • Innovative Use of Underground Space – Toledo Metro Station on Line 1 in Naples
  • Young Tunneler of the Year – Karlovsek Jurij
  • Contractor of the Year – SALINI-IMPREGILO
  • Engineer of the Year – Parsons Brinckerhoff-WSP
  • Lifetime Achievement – Prof. Dr. Eng. Sebastiano Pelizza

Additional details and a list of finalists are available on the awards website.

RELATED: Bay Tunnel Wins Tunneling Achievement Award


Comments are closed here.